As previously reported during its initial testing phase, Instagram has rolled out a new feature which allows you to archive and hide photos from your feed.
Head into the options menu on a photo and you’ll see the new ‘Archive’ tool. This puts your photo in a private collection which only you have access to, a fact that Instagram hopes will stop users from deleting content entirely.
Crucially, you’re also able to restore photos from the archive, slotting them back into place in the chronological order that they originally appeared in. Your followers won’t be notified of archiving or unarchiving photos, so you can continually mix up your feed to your heart’s content.
“Your profile is a representation of who you are and evolves with you over time,” says Instagram. “With Archive, you now have more flexibility to shape your profile while still preserving moments that matter.”
This will be a great feature for brands and popular users who wish to theme their feeds during particular events, or create ‘temporary’ posts without losing record of all the previous engagement they’ve had.
To archive a post you’ve already shared, tap “…” at the top of the post and choose “Archive.” You’ll still be able to see it when you tap the Archive icon in the top right corner of your profile. If you change your mind about a post you’ve archived, tap “Show on Profile” at any time and it’ll show up in its original spot.
The features are available for version 10.21 of the Instagram app, available now for both iOS and Android users.
from PetaPixel http://ift.tt/2rrxzlh